Today you are a teapot.

Please choose a teapot.
This teapot will be you until you finish today’s blog. πŸ™‚
Since I am asking you to BE a teapot I will at least give you some really cool ones to choose from.

Teapot5 Teapot4 Teapot3 Teapot2 Teapot1 Teapot

Got one?

Okay… so today you are a teapot. Have you ever thought about the personality of a teapot? Not its looks or where it came from but what sort of person is a teapot on the inside? The first word I think of is “giving”. Very few other objects can connect people as quickly and as easily as a teapot can.

That said, the teapot is also a master at self-care.Β  It is perfect at it. When it is full and warm, it shares and shares but when the teapot is close to empty, it won’t even think for a moment before wanting to be refilled. It does not feel guilty for needing more water or a new teabag. It does not berate itself for having those needs. It does not deem itself stupid or selfish. It just needs a refill. Period.

Since you are a teapot today (a very nice looking teapot I must say), I want to think of yourself as cozy and warm. Filled to the brim with delicious tea. You are happy and content.
Then along comes the cups. Small cups, larger cups, beautiful cups, cups with a chip in them, kinda ugly cups, decorative cups and plain.
These cups represent all the different areas in your life which you give your energy to. Everything from walking the dog or petting the cat to going to work or taking care of your family. Don’t forget that there are usually a LOT of cups. Some cups (children, spouses, caring for your home, dealing with/making money…) are larger cups and require more of your tea. Others areΒ  smaller (food shopping, going to the library, taking a walk…). These require less tea but they can not be ignored.

So back to you, my teapot friends.
You can only fill so many cups before you run dry. Even the biggest and best teapot runs out of steam eventually. It can only hold so much.
So what do you do when you begin to run out of water?
Let the last drops fall and pray for more?
Berate yourself for running out of water?
Get angry at the cups?
Call yourself lazy, stupid or selfish ?
How helpful is any of that going to be?
The teapot is empty and needs be refilled. Period.

The teapot needs to be refilled on a regular basis if it is going to be of any use at all to the cups. It is only by refilling on a regular basis that there is an endless stream of tea for everyone to enjoy.

Filling the teapot is no different from self-care.
In order for you to be of use to anyone else, you must refill yourself on a regular basis. It can not always be the very last thing on the list because you’ll have nothing at all to share. You will be empty and that is no good for anyone.

Self care is not selfish AT ALL. You are only taking enough time to refill yourself so that you will have more to share. Empty teapots can look cute but they are really of no use are they? Don’t allow staying empty to be okay with you thinking that you are just a generous person who puts others first. It is a great idea but if you don’t put you first? Who will?
Coming first and taking time for self-care is necessary for good physical and mental health. When you are a happier and more fulfilled person, those around you only stand to benefit from that.

How you refill your teapot is up to you. It is different for everyone. For me it can be doing my artwork, chatting with a good friend, playing a game on my computer… it can be anything at all that makes you feel happy and calm. Anything that truly feels like you’ve had a break. Sometimes it can be 5 minutes while you might occasionally get an hour or even a whole afternoon but no matter what you get? TAKE IT and do self-care.

A short life lesson from a former bone dry teapot…
I used to say that there was no time to take care of myself.
Then I learned that I MAKE time for everyone else so I need to MAKE time for me too.

Elanor

7 responses to “Today you are a teapot.

  1. I finally get it! — about self-care. Great analogy.

    Like

  2. I chose the teapot with the books, tiny teacup and biscuit atop. I was really feeling my teapot as you described it’s day!
    When you asked readers to treat ourselves as we would as the teapots, I immediately thought. ‘ But, but, I don’t think I deserve to keep being filled and my cups will just have to deal with it!’
    You knew some folks would feel like that and showed us why that won’t work.
    I so enjoyed, and learned, from this visualization exercise! I am starting to develop a little self-care toolkit for myself.

    Like

  3. gret post. i am horrible at self care. great reminder that i should try harder. thank you! XXX

    Like

Leave a Reply

