Without Fear

Take a nice deep breath and then let it out slowly. Do it again and focus on being here. Right here and right now. I have an important question to ask you.

What would you do if you could erase the fear that surrounds your doing it?

If there was no nagging voice in the back of your head saying that it probably won’t work, it will be more effort than it is worth, you’re too ________ (fat, ugly, lazy, uncreative, poor…), you just don’t have the time, you have work, children, spouses and houses.
What would you do if you could just tell that voice to shut the heck up?

Would you learn to dance?
Enroll in art lessons?
Share your poetry with others?
Talk to someone whom intimidates you?
Write a book?
Paint your bedroom purple?
Find a better job?
Give hugs more freely?
Learn to trust a few core people in your life?
Get therapy?
Start a business?
Deal with an addiction?
Ride a horse?
Learn to play an instrument?
There are just so many options!

What would you do?

I watched another “Super Soul Sunday” last weekend and it was Shonda Rhimes that was the guest. For those of you who may not have heard of her, she is the creator of several hit TV shows that are incredibly endearing to those who watch them. Grey’s Anatomy, How to Get Away With Murder, and Scandal to name just a few. She’s also written a book over this past year (in her spare time???) called “Year of Yes”. For one year she started saying yes to things she would have never said yes to before. Invitations to speak in public, parties, her daughters requests to play… just saying yes as often as possible and especially where she would have normally said no. She said it has transformed her life and she’s begun doing things that she always wanted to do but did not do because fear held her back.

I was really happy when they asked the question “When was the last time you did something that terrified you?”. I was happy because for so many years within my life, I avoided so much but over these past 3 years, I’ve said yes a lot.
Yes I will spend 4 months in hospital to help get my life back on track and learn how to make many difficult changes. I was never so scared in my life but it has proven to be the best thing I have ever done with my life.
Yes I will be (appropriately) open about my diagnoses and take the risk of everyone dropping me like a hot potato. The reaction was the opposite. People got closer to me instead because I was finally being the real me and not so desperately trying to hide my secrets. My life is more full now than ever with amazing people.
Yes I will start a blog. I actually started one, hated it, waited many months and then got the guts to begin this one. I promised to be open and honest no matter how hard that can be at times. I am sure you can all feel a “real” person writes this. You’ve seen my soul.
Yes I will start selling my art. YIKES! Really? Show it in public and actually ask people to pay me for it? I can not adequately express how terrified I was (and still am before each show begins). The reaction has been amazing although I wish I got paid for compliments rather than just the art. I’d make more money that way. 😉
I’ve basically been living 3 years of yes.
I’ve shuffled over my fears and just done things that terrified me to even try.

I have not conquered all fear. I never will but I am actively trying to lessen the amount of power that fear holds in my life and I agree with Shonda Rhimes. It is trans-formative.

My life today looks very little like my life from 3 years ago. I am so much happier and in control of my life. I am no longer stuck at the bottom of a huge pit and it feels so good. I still have some really hard days but they don’t tend to string together any longer. Going from one issue to the next.

If you could just take a leap of faith and give yourself a chance, where could you land? Are you curious? Are you curious enough to actually try it? I hope you are.

The very worst thing that could possibly happen is that you could fail or get negative feedback. I’m sure you’d handled both of those things before? And so what? Failing is only a setback. A lesson to teach you how to do it better next time.

The best thing that could happen would be that you’d change your life for the better. I firmly believe it is worth a try.

Dragonfly Dreams Copy

4 responses to “Without Fear

  1. I love this picture and I have it! I will think about this post today. Where can I start saying yes?

    Like

  2. Hello,

    I’ve nominated you for the Respect Award

    You don’t have to do anything for this award…

    To learn more click the link….

    http://robertmgoldstein.com/2015/11/23/the-respect-award-round-two/

    RG

    Like

Leave a Reply

