9/11

I have been sitting here trying to think of what todays blog should be about. I have a bunch of ideas but they all just feel wrong on this day.
Some years 9/11 comes and goes almost a little too easily for my liking and then other years I feel that crushing weight of that day 14 years ago. This is just one of those tough years.

First I want to take a moment to remember each and every person affected by this terrible day in history. It is not only the people that made the ultimate sacrifice that I think of. I think of their families, friends, co-workers and even their pets that could never understand why their masters never came home.

Then I want to remind myself that although a large group of men chose to cause death, terror and destruction that day, they were outnumbered thousandfold by good, loving, caring people who did everything they could possibly do to help those who needed it both on that day and in the days that have followed. The loving actions by those who cared are still felt today in scholarships for the children of the men and women who lost their lives that day as well as many other worthy causes.

Today I choose to look straight past the hate and terror that those men wished to cause that day and plant my eyes firmly on those who showed us all what true heroes really are.

I was going to put out a message to those who were affected that day but in reality we were all affected by that day. So many of us still are so I want to let each and every person who still feels the pain or fear of that day know that you are never alone.

911

One response to “9/11

  1. Dancing butterfly

    I still remember that day well. And thank you for writing about it not just as a memory but a reminder of the people who collected together to help those in need and who were and continue to be affected by the losses and tragedy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

