EFT – Emotional Freedom Technique

EFT – The Emotional Freedom Technique is very new to me but has been around for quite some time from what I have learned. Maybe you all know about it already?

I want to start by saying that I am not a teacher of this nor do I know all the ins and outs of it. I am just a curious duck who likes to try anything at all that looks like it might help in some way. If it doesn’t? Nothing is lost right? This EFT thing has me very curious though and I have used it a few times over the past two weeks with surprising benefits so I figured that I would share what I have learned so far with all of you.
If it helps you? That is terrific!!!
If it doesn’t? NEXT! šŸ˜‰

EFT is based on a similar philosophy to acupuncture. Using your fingers to tap on certain points is said to release blocked energy and negative emotions.
I will admit that when I first heard of it and watched a video about it, I thought “Oh poppycock. What a load of ****.” but I am happy to report that I took my first reaction and threw it out the window to look at it again with new eyes and an open mind.
… and now you all know that I am quick to dislike a new idea BUT I am willing to try again after I get over myself. Am I forgiven? šŸ˜‰

I watched a few videos and read articles pertaining to EFT and almost all of them point to anxiety being the main reason it was created. Anxiety about anything really but for those with anxiety disorders, this has proven very effective. Considering PTSD is an anxiety disorder as well as other hallmarks, I decided to give this a whirl.

The amygdala and our anxiety responses are closely related. Any “negative” emotion is a bit more likely to jump right over the thinking brain and take residence in the amygdala. Good decisions, normal reactions, and calm outcomes very rarely come from this place. At times, there are issues that we are not able to accept ourselves for that come from this place. Many of us say unkind things to ourselves on a regular basis and the real truth is rarely behind any of it.
One common example? “I’m so stupid!” Really? Are you truly stupid? I doubt it.
Whether it be stupid, fat, a klutz, ugly, scrawny,Ā  lazy or any other put-down that you can think of, these all come from a place of anxiety about ourselves. Within these statements is a fear about ourselves not measuring up.
Then fears or phobias that we have, daily stresses, tough times… the list of reasons to be anxious seems never-ending.
I’m starting to feel stressed talking about all this stress. Lets work our way out of it now shall we? šŸ™‚

Since I am very new to this myself, I think its best to let a professional who teaches this technique on a regular basis be the one who leads you through learning the basics. I hope you will be willing to trying this out and seeing how you feel about it.

YouTube is a treasure trove of videos on EFT that deal with a very wide variety of different issues. I am not comfortable doing it on my own yet but following the videos is quite simple. Just search EFT and weight loss or EFT and anxiety. Type in whatever issue that you have and I am sure you will get many videos to help you along.

I’ve only been using this for a little over a week and always followed a video but yesterday I was driving on horrible roads that were so thick with water that driving on ice would have been comparable. I didn’t remember all the stuff that I was supposed to say or do so I just tapped on the points that I could remember and repeated “I am feeling very anxious about driving in this.” That is all I said but I did remember to rate my anxiety before and after each run through.
The result? I was actually shocked that my anxiety did lessen each time. From an 8 to a 6 to a 4. Then I started to feel really relaxed and decided to stop because sleeping while driving is discouraged where I live. šŸ˜‰

I am going to start using this technique on a more regular basis over the next week for anxiety and plan on using one that I found about weight loss too.
If you are interested in the weight loss one, I will link that here as well.

As an easy visual reminder, the tapping points for EFT are as follows.
eft-tapping-points-diagram
I really hope that if any of you try this or have already been using it, I’d love to hear from you and know how you felt about it. Let me know what you are working on if you are comfortable in doing so and how it either helped you or did not help you with your issue. I’m very curious. I’ll let you know what happens with me as well.

EFT – One more tool in the (healing) toolbox. šŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

