Random Acts of Kindness

I am a real supporter of the random acts of kindness movement and I now realize that it has become far more to me than I thought it could. It started by me doing an occasional act here and there but now I often do several in a day. I’m not bragging here, I actually thought it was almost selfish because I often feel that I get far more out of it than anyone else. I can be having the crappiest of days but if I reach out and do something unexpected and kind for someone else (most often anonymously), it perks me right back up. So yes, it is giving to others but I am also getting a lot back. I sort of worried for a bit that I was actually being selfish rather than giving… until now.

I was touched by what I will refer to as a random act of kindness last weekend. Another blogger sent me an email telling me that he was giving me the “Once a Victim, Now a Survivor” blog award. As many of you read last week, I was having a VERY hard week and had even begun to question myself about a lot of things including the benefit of this blog. Then along comes this sweet message nominating me for an award and a note thanking me for what I do. Wow. Just wow. I was so touched and my mood instantly perked back up and I was able to knock off my “stinkin’ thinkin'” completely.
This moment also made me realize that those random acts of kindness that I do are fulfilling to me personally but they can be equally fulfilling to those on the receiving end. Double the pleasure I suppose? 🙂 🙂

I will fulfill the awards requirements within this post. I hope you all don’t mind.
A HUGE shout out and thank you to Rob Goldstein for the nomination!
robertmgoldstein.com

once-a-victim-now-a-survivor-award
This award is for those who have gone through mental illness of any kind, abuse, trauma, and especially PTSD. Here are the rules:
*** I have included a couple of blogs that are written by people who love and write about their wives mental health issues with an incredible amount of compassion. ***

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you.
  2. Nominate 5 – 10  bloggers to pass the award to.
  3. Post 5 questions for your nominees to answer (you may use the same as these below).
  4. Inform your nominees and post a comment in their blog to let them know they’ve been nominated.

The 5 questions I’d like for my nominees to answer.
1- In what ways do you feel that blogging can help people with psychological trauma  or mental illness?
2 – How has blogging helped you with your healing, or your personal journey?
3 – What books, movies, or YouTube channels would you recommend to someone with a similar background to you?
4 – When did you start your blog and what inspired you?
5 – What types of blogs do you follow?

In what ways do you feel that blogging can help people with psychological trauma  or mental illness?
More than anything, I feel that blogging allows me to reach out in a way that I could not in person, especially in my small, rural community. It gives me a place to share things I learn, the ups and downs of daily life, and I really hope that it can make someone out there feel less alone. I remember feeling alone and crazy. It was awful.

How has blogging helped you with your healing, or your personal journey?
I expected people to react very negatively to my blog. I expected backlash, naysayers, people to call me a liar or come in to discuss how “fake” they feel DID is. I have gotten very little of that. 99% of all the responses have been supportive, positive and open-minded. This has allowed me to share more of myself and be truly authentic. It’s been very healing.

What books, movies, or YouTube channels would you recommend to someone with a similar background to you?
The book “Coping with Trauma Related Dissociation” is a workbook that really helps those with DID wade through much of the confusion it can cause and offers easy to follow steps to help heal in the many areas that DID touches.

BookCoping with Trauma Related Dissociation on Amazon.com

When did you start your blog and what inspired you?
A year ago. I bought the site name in June and released my first blog in July.
I was inspired to begin it because I wanted to offer a more positive view of trauma survivors and those with DID. I found a lot of the information out there leans very heavily towards the difficulties and the controversy surrounding both the Complex-PTSD and the DID diagnoses. I wanted to create a place where some rigid diagnosis criteria was thrown out the window and we could just be people looking for support and answers.  We are people, we are not recipes for strawberry jam. We don’t all experience exactly the same things and expecting us to is very unrealistic. Human beings do not work that way.

What types of blogs do you follow?
I don’t follow as many as I would like to. I have found myself very triggered by the content of many blogs. It is 100% up to each writer to choose how much to share but I find it very difficult to read details of trauma and negative coping strategies without being triggered. I’ve chosen to make my blog as trigger free as possible and I search out others that try to do the same.
I also have a lot of trouble concentrating. It can take me as much as an entire day to write one blog. Sometimes it stretches in to days or a week when my inner world is heavily disrupted. By the time I put together my 3 blogs for each week, I often have little concentration left for reading anything. I often can not even re-read my own blogs to edit them or check for mistakes for many days due to a lack of concentration.
When things are good and the internal world is somewhat quiet, I try to go back as far as I can to catch up.

My nominees for the “Once a Victim, Now a Survivor” award are…
Pattys Path To Healing
My Travels With Depression
Cass and Co.
Patricia J Grace
A Different Life Being Lived
Many of Us
OCD Talk
Janet Cate
Loving My DID Girls
Marci, Mental Health and More

 

3 responses to “Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Congratulations!

    >

    Like

  2. Congratulations on a very well-deserved award, Heather! And thank you for nominating my blog as well. You made my day :). I don’t usually accept awards only because I just don’t have the time to follow through with the questions, requirements, etc., but it still means so much to me to be nominated…….thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

