Nudging the Upwards Spiral

In my last blog, I gave my full attention to the spiral downwards. I feel it is only fair to discuss some ways to nudge that spiral upwards as well. 🙂

The spiral downwards can be scary and we all hate it but we also have a lot of power to create lives that will continue to improve over time. I have watched my own life go down that deep, dark hole far too many times but more recently, I see it going upwards and I am loving it. I will tell you though that it is not easy. It takes a bit of effort on your part but you get back every single drop of effort that you put in. That’s a fair trade right?

Emotions
So what are some things that we can do to nudge ourselves up that spiral of positivity? Step one right this minute is going to add the word “positivity” to my accepted words. It seems it is not in a dictionary YET. How about we change that? 😉

We can start simple and move upwards over time. Starting by trying to be as content as possible with what we have. If something causes you to be unhappy with where you are? Try to remove it if at all possible. If you can’t? Try to either do less of it or find a way to frame it in a more positive light.

Having a sense of hopefulness is a biggie too. By just allowing yourself to be hopeful, you are creating a positive shift in your mind. Why not give it a try? What if it does work? We might fail but have a blast trying!

Are you an optimist? I’m not. 😉 I’m a realist. That said? I firmly believe that being optimistic is a really important skill that I try to practice as often as possible. Choosing to see the darker side of things or assuming nothing will work out is a very sad way to live. And trust me here when I say that I know what it feels like to have EVERY reason to view the world through negative lenses. I have seen the very worst of humanity BUT I am making a daily choice to look for the good things that this world has to offer and there is a lot.

When doing anything or trying anything new, why not be positive and just believe that you will like it or do fairly well at it? If you don’t? Nothing is lost except the negative attitude that you could have had going in to it pessimistically. You’ve really got nothing else to lose so why not?

How about a bit of enthusiasm? I will admit that I am not all that great in this area. I do try though. Adding some enthusiasm in to anything makes it better for you and those around you.

Passion. Not sexual passion although that is good for you too.
I have a friend who has passion is spades! She’s a beautiful mix of passion and intelligence that I strive to emulate. I will admit that being passionate about things was not really a part of my life in the past and I was very numb through most things. Being passionate and feeling like I have a purpose in my life now has brought me a whole new feeling of being alive. I truly believe that every single person has a reason to be on this earth. Something they can offer to make this world a better place. Even if you only help one person. It all matters.

“The two most important days are the day you were born and the day you find out why.”

And the top of the spiral includes so much. A joy for living. Knowledge and empowerment regarding the issues that matter to you. The freedom to be who you are. Finding love within your circle that has no conditions. Appreciation for all of it. The good, the bad, being the teacher and being taught, the give and the take of everyday life.

That downward spiral is no fun at all but the upwards spiral is thrilling and it eventually makes up for any hardships you have faced. Have a wonderful day everyone!

6 responses to “Nudging the Upwards Spiral

  1. Beautiful diagram and some great stuff to ponder, too.

    Like

  2. This diagram needs to be made into a poster like yesterdays too! It’s so good to hear you are going up the upward spiral Heather – and very inspirational, because it ain’t easy! Both diagrams have been a bit of a wake-up call for me. Thank you.x

    Like

  3. Great post and diagram, Heather. Are you sure you weren’t a psychology professor in your past life? 🙂

    Like

    • Okay, you made me laugh out loud. 🙂 No, I was never a psychology professor in this or a past life. That said? Medicine and understanding how things work (including our brains) fascinates me. Maybe I’ll teach it in my next life? 😉 Have a great weekend Janet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

