Meditation

Don’t run away screaming. I promise this won’t be too hard. 🙂

When I heard the word meditation in the past, I will admit that my reaction was always negative. I am so highly dissociative that allowing my mind to relax and for my body to sit still was unimaginable. I knew I’d “disappear”. I think even people who do not dissociate can have this fear. The whole idea of emptying your mind is just too far-fetched for a lot of people to even consider. We all have at least 100 things to be thinking about right? Even if it is only “Did I close the garbage lid?”.

I have since learned that meditation does not involve emptying your mind and to expect that is unrealistic. The purpose is to become aware of your thoughts, accept them and try to focus on the here and now the best that you can. If you suddenly find yourself making supper plans, you just need to breathe, allow the thoughts to leave and go back to thinking about this moment. Not the moments before it and not the ones afterwards.

Mediation also gets a bad rap for people who either can’t or do not wish to sit cross-legged on the floor while attempting to not cramp up or have a leg go to sleep. If you can do it? Wonderful! If you can’t? It doesn’t matter!

You can meditate while walking. Just focusing on nature, the sounds around you, the birds, the rustle of the leaves or the crunching of snow under your feet depending on the time of year can be very relaxing and peaceful. Just using that small bit of time in your day to let your mind be as still as possible while focusing on the walk rather than the laundry, groceries, supper, rooms that need cleaning, paying bills…
TRUST ME… those things will all wait. They have NEVER left me before no matter how long I am away from them.
You deserve to have some time away so take it! Guilt free.

You can meditate while listening to some calming music or a guided meditation tape (make sure the voice doesn’t trigger you). Just give yourself that bit of time. Sit, lay down, stand up. What ever works for you. It is also okay to shift positions if you are not comfortable. There is no mediation rule book.

You can meditate anywhere and you don’t need anything special. A park bench, your own kitchen, on a bus while going to school or work, a crowded room, really any place at all. Meditation is just the act of bringing yourself to the present minute and allowing your mind to relax.

Some of the benefits of taking 15-20 minutes each day to meditate are (but not limited to)…

Physiological benefits:
It increases blood flow and slows the heart rate.
Reduces anxiety attacks by lowering the levels of blood lactate.
Decreases muscle tension.
Reduces activity of viruses and emotional distress.
Helps in chronic diseases like allergies, arthritis etc.
Helps with weight loss.
Drop in cholesterol levels, lowers risk of cardiovascular disease.
Improved flow of air to the lungs resulting in easier breathing.
Produce lasting beneficial changes in brain electrical activity.
Cure headaches & migraines. (Or reduces.)

Psychological benefits:
Increases serotonin level, influences mood and behaviour.
Helps control own thoughts.
Helps with focus & concentration.
Increase creativity.
Improved learning ability and memory.
Improved relations at home & at work.
Increased ability to solve complex problems.
Helps in quitting smoking, alcohol addiction.
Can require less time to fall asleep, helps cure insomnia.

Spiritual benefits:
Helps keep things in perspective.
Provides peace of mind, happiness.
Helps you discover your purpose.
Growing wisdom.
Deeper understanding of yourself and others.
Increased acceptance of oneself.
Changes attitude toward life.
Helps living in the present moment.

peace

6 responses to “Meditation

  1. Great post. I also misinterpreted meditation, until I did a mindfulness course. I can’t sit still and find it is easier to empty my mind while walking slowly and absorbing nature, as you suggest in your post. It’s tremendously difficult to live in the present moment if, like me, you are going through intense therapy, but walking-meditation can help to free up some of the stress.

    Like

  2. Great post. I don’t meditate as often as I should, but I definitely notice the benefits when I do……

    Like

  3. I think you and i have a lot in common. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

