Surround Yourself.

There are so many saying about choosing who you surround yourself with and how that decision affects so many aspects of your life.

  • “Energy is contagious, positive and negative alike. I will forever be mindful of what and who I am allowing in to my space.”
  • “Cutting those with negative energy out of my life does not mean I hate them; it means I respect me.”
  • “Stop letting people who do so little for you control so much of your mind, feelings and emotions.”
  • “Do not expect positive things to happen in your life if you surround yourself with negative people.”
  • “Please be responsible for the energy you bring in to this space.”

I am very sensitive to the energy of others. I believe that everyone can be just as perceptive of this energy but many people do not pay attention to it or cultivate their natural intuitive abilities. Many people squash or ignore what they feel or how they are made to feel by the people that surround them. We tend to make excuses and talk ourselves out of having an intuitive reaction. “Oh I am sure he’s a nice guy.” “Relax, there is no one watching you.” “Don’t be so silly, a ride home would be nice.” Whatever the feeling might be gets washed away by our  “reasoning”.
If we consider that we are animals/mammals just like so many other species, we are the ONLY one that will ignore our intuition. If a deer feels threatened? They react immediately. They don’t care if they are wrong. This is how they stay safe. We have that intuition too but we are so afraid to be wrong or look silly that we just stand there and hope we are wrong.
No other animals says to themselves “Oh I am probably wrong.” “I am not a good judge of character.” “I tend to overreact.”. We really shouldn’t either.

This same intuitive ability we have here is the same one that picks up energy.
If someone walks in to a room with a smile and a positive attitude, you can instantly feel it even if they do not say a word. The same goes with a black cloud that walks in to the same room. Instantly the energy changes.

It becomes our own choice at this point to choose which sort of people we surround ourselves with and it is also within our power to ask people to be aware of the energy they bring with them in to your space. They might think you are crazy at first but being crazy isn’t so bad. I’ve been there. A few times.

We can’t prevent all negativity from finding us but we can cut down on it a lot. When someone starts talking about something that bothers you, leave or ask them to wait until you have gone home. If someone always drags drama along with them, stop inviting them or make it clear that this event you are going to is going to be fun and drama free. Maybe that sounds harsh but I promise you that when you stop allowing people to drag their dirty feet through your mind (Gandhi said that), your life will begin to get better.

There is only one little thing I forgot to mention… if it is you that drags the bad attitude around? You need to have a serious chat with yourself first.
Just not out-loud in public. Once again, people will think you are crazy.

Negative

10 responses to “Surround Yourself.

  1. Reblogged this on The Busted Up Blog and commented:
    Awesome post, so very true and relevant 😉 Reposting

    Like

  2. I am so sensitive to the energy of other people. Just getting on a bus I am overwhelmed by the energy of others. I find it hard to be in groups as well. I really do control who I let into my home. That is where I can protect myself. I use to think I was crazy but have been reading a lot on the topic from Hearthmath. Glad you talked about it in your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you so much again Janet. I will have ti look that name up. I have always been very sensitive to peoples energy so for me it feels unnatural to not have it. I am always learning though from people like yourself who share themselves and their tidbits of wisdom with me. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  3. My family is the same. It was my husband who helped me come to understand this. He is so sensitive as well, walking into a busy store can be overwhelming for him. As far as I go, I tend to not notice my own reactions to things, but my husband helps. It helps though when dealing with people in general (especially our kids) to become more aware of the energy I am bringing into the situation. One daughter of mine in particular is very sensitive, and once I change my state of mind she usually feels a ton better. A tv show we liked to watch was The Dog Whisperer – it shows pretty well how our own energy can affect our surroundings.

    Like

    • Oh I loved that show! It is so very true isn’t it? While some are more sensitive that others, we all bring that energy with us as we go through life. It shows a great deal of love towards your family for you to be aware of how your energy affects them.

      Like

  4. I have always found it difficult to trust my instincts regarding people and situations. Giving people the benefit of the doubt is one thing, but letting a negative situation continue because you don’t want to hurt someone/worry about what others will say/dislike change/are afraid you can’t manage without that person or simply don’t trust your own judgement is NOT wise! I KNOW this and tell myself frequently, but still find it hard.

    Like

  5. Heather,

    I’m not trying to be critical…but what if the woman that you love has a disorder from abuse so bad and the way to help her heal is to be her ‘safe haven’ during all the healing from the abuse and emotional storms of 7 different girls, letting them, especially the last girl, literally suck the life out of me so that they get a second chance at the happy, healthy life their parents never gave them?

    I’m NOT trying to negate this post, but sadly what you need to heal is exactly opposite what I choose to endure to HELP my girls heal, and even just to be a friend to the ladies here on wordpress who need the freedom to share heartwrenching stuff and have someone else still be willing to stay, and listen and treat them kindly and respectfully and such. There’s been LOTS of drama in my life for the last 7 years, lots of negativity for the 26 years I’ve been married to my dysfunctional wife, and I know that it has changed who I am. I am NOT the happy person I used to be. I rarely ever sing anymore when that used to be such a huge part of my life before I got married. Others in my life kind of accuse me of being depressed and such. But it’s a price I’m willing to pay.

    Take care and I’m glad you have your husband in your life to be a happy, positive person for you, too.

    Sam

    Like

    • I don’t take that critically at all. My husband faces the same challenges. Trust me, I am NOT always the easiest person to be around, I have abusive Helpers, young Helpers, sexually “interesting” Helpers… it is not at all often a walk in the park.
      When I say to surround yourself with positive people, for me that does not mean they are perfect or without challenges. It means that they love you, care for you and want the best for you rather than bait you, bash you and don’t truly care for your well-being at all.
      Also… everyone is more than free to write any sort of blog they wish. I have found many that share their pain, details of their traumas, the extremes of daily life and so forth. That is 100% perfectly fine. I have decided that my blog is going to focus more on what I have learned that works for me and not all the challenges that I face (which are many and if honest, far more common than the positives). I still chose my blog to be a positive and safe place during some peoples storms.
      My life was so heavily fraught with such horrible people and I was treated worse than dirt on their shoes. This post is to say I am NOT allowing that in my life any longer. I have friends who struggle, I have friends who are depressed, bi-polar, schizophrenic, have DID, PTSD and more. I don’t ditch them because they have issues. I love them as they are. It is the people that are intentionally mean, rude, uncaring or thoughtless that this post is about.
      And Sam… you always impress me with your love for your wife, your thoughtfulness and caring attitude even towards me and my blog. I think you are a very positive person. I really hope that one day your life will be such that you will begin to sing again. I want that for you.
      Heather

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

