A Safer World

Have you ever been sitting in front of your TV or listening to a radio when some breaking news comes on and your attention is immediately focused on the latest tragedy? I sure have! I remember spending DAYS watching CNN after 9/11. I just couldn’t turn away for fear that I’d miss something. Looking back now I realize that i was traumatizing myself but back then I had no clue.
It’s not only news stations that bring these events in to our lives. Many popular TV shows are centered around the latest most gruesome murder.
After my 4 months of treatment I made a decision to stop watching the news, listening to radio reports or allowing any violent TV to be played in my home.
It didn’t take me very long to begin to notice something. I started feeling safer. It wasn’t what I had learned while I was in treatment that was making this particular change. It was my purposeful avoidance of any type of unnecessary negativity.
Without hearing the news, I didn’t really miss out on anything of any importance. I could get general news stories online from sites like “The Good News Network” where you can still hear the stories but hear the GOOD side as well. An example. The Ebola outbreak. The news will be giving you how many people have it, how many will likely get it, how many are dying and how seemingly hopeless catching it appears to be. I don;t need to watch the news to know how they will present this topic. It will be presented in the most fearful, attention grabbing fashion possible. Not to educate you but rather to gain viewers and make money. Educating you is not their real business.
On The Good News Network, I still hear about the outbreak but they tell of towns where the locals have worked together to eradicate Ebola from their area. How quick and out of the box thinking has worked. Will the town that managed this incredible feat be on the news? Not likely!
I am picking on the news but it really holds true for all media. They make people feel as though the world is less safe, more horrible and far more out of control than it really is. There is bad. I can’t argue that at all but there is FAR more good. I found a terrific video today online that has cemented my belief that this world is a safer, healthier, more educated place. I hope you will take some time to watch it as well and I hope it allows you to feel the same way I did.
This truly is a safer world. Breathe a sigh of relief and shut the news off. ๐Ÿ™‚

5 responses to “A Safer World

  1. Amen Heather! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on this one, Heather. Haven’t watched the news in years. I tell my husband if there’s something really important I need to know about to make sure and tell me. There rarely is!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know I agree with you on this Heather. It’s not so much WHAT the news is as the WAY it’s presented – this applies to both News programmes and newspapers. I rarely watch the news and never buy newspapers any more, but I DO know what goes on in the World – good and bad. Thanks to the internet we can now choose NOT to listen to sensationalized versions of the news and still be informed.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bravo! I loved the video, too. The media is just…outrageious. At least online you can skip what you don’t want to read! XX

    Like

Leave a Reply

